Saturday, 2 July 2011

India squad for Test series in England announced

Star players Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir and Zaheer Khan expectedly returned to the team as the national selectors today announced a full-strength 17-member Test squad for India's upcoming tour of England starting mid-July.

Yuvraj Singh, who skipped the tour of West Indies because of a chest infection, also made a comeback to the Test squad along with Kerela speedstar S Sreesanth.

Bengal wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha got the nod ahead of Parthiv patel as the second wicketkeeper, while Virat Kohli and opener Murali Vijay were dropped from the squad announced by BCCI secretary N Srinivasan after a meeting of the selection committee here.

Tamil Nadu opener Abhinav Mukund was retained in the squad but pacer Abhimanyu Mithun couldn't get the favour from the selectors.

Dashing opener Virender Sehwag, who was also forced to skip the Caribbean tour because of a shoulder surgery, will miss the first test but will join the team after a fortnight. The team, to be captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, will have Gambhir as the vice-captain.

The squad has as many as five pace bowlers considering the seaming conditions in England. It has two spinners in Harbhajan Singh and Amit Mishra.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt), Gautam Gambhir (vice Capt), Abhivan Mukund, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, S Sreesanth, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Wriddhiman Saha, Virender Sehwag.

No comments:

Post a Comment